TODAY


This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.
Psalm 118:24

What does this word today bring to mind? Happiness, excitement, contentment, peacefulness. Or maybe you are currently…struggling at home with sick kids, stressed over finances, frustrated by a late repair man, burdened with a busy schedule, or sad about the loss of a relationship.

Psalm 118:24 is a great reminder that God makes each day. He allows us to experience it and we should act appropriately in our response — by rejoicing and being glad in it.

DeepInTheForest_cre8art4life_JulieGeigerWhat about yesterday? There are a lot of “places” to which I would like to go back. I am grateful to God for wonderful experiences, memories, and even lessons. I pray that they have made me a stronger believer and a bolder witness of the gospel message. BUT, when I hang on to yesterday by dwelling there, I am thinking only of myself. I’m not seeking God’s plan or trusting Him for TODAY – the next step He has ordained for me.

I need to trust that if God wanted me to remain in those circumstances, the highs or the lows, He would have me there still.

What about tomorrow?

Are you waiting for that time when you…graduate, find that perfect job, have all of the kids out of diapers, go on the fabulous vacation you’ve been planning, buy a “better” house, win the Publisher’s Clearing House sweepstakes.

Steve Massey, a pastor, says, “Since we are not promised tomorrow we can be certain today is a gift from God.”

What if I treated each today as the gift from God that it is?

Have you ever gotten a gift that…

  • You loved – that special jewelry.
  • You appreciated – the gift of time.
  • You shared with someone else – those tickets to a concert.
  •  You didn’t like – that orange jumpsuit.
  • (or, maybe you didn’t even know what to do with – that sparkly thingamajig.)

I’ve been given a gift from my Lord! Each day will be different; it could include any or all of those types of gifts.

sunset-hairWhat will I do with it?            

Anticipate it! Unwrap it! Use it!

TODAYThis is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.

To do otherwise than rejoice and be glad in the place or circumstances in which God has me today is:

  • disobedient and displeasing to Him.
  • a poor witness to believers and unbelievers.
  • showing a lack of commitment and trust in His plan for me.

Ephesians 2:10 lays out some of His plan, “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” He has prepared things for us to do.

Do I always like today? Not necessarily. But I must trust Him with it.

Hebrews 13:8 tells us, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” And Hebrews 13:5 reminds us that “Jesus will never leave you or forsake you.”

Since TODAY is the day He’s given me, what does He want me to do with it? What does He want you to do with it?

With Him, we can face each new TODAY with purpose and joy.

-Jane Cutrer

11259437_930876190266640_5295767194268207511_nI came to know the Lord as my Savior as a child and have been blessed in my life, walking with Him as a wife, mother, and grandmother. I have facilitated a Discipleship class at the Southern Seminary Wives Institute for about 10 years and been involved in various roles of women’s Bible studies for about 35 years.

Leave a Reply

