Face Time with God

Prayer

“Let everything that has breath praise the LORD! Praise the LORD!”

Psalm 150:6

I have a confession to make! When I was asked to write on prayer for this blog, my first response was “No! I am not a writer!” But, truth be told, there was more to it than that. I was struggling in my prayer life. How, in the world, could I write anything meaningful about prayer – I would feel like such a poser! So, I wrestled with God about it…and prayed…OH the irony.

photo-1416339684178-3a239570f315I don’t know exactly when it started, but I had, simply, started to doubt that God hears my prayers. I had suffered through some profound stuff and no matter how much I prayed, it didn’t change anything. What I had forgotten is that prayer isn’t about changing things. Prayer is about changing me!

Ephesians 3:20 states, “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” I can’t even imagine all that God can do.

We are taught to seek God’s face in prayer. Why is that important? Face time with God reveals his character. It shows me who He is.

One time, I tried an exercise where I prayed sitting in a chair with an empty chair facing me. I would pull it close enough to me that my knees would touch it – then I would imagine Jesus was in that chair. As I prayed, I would imagine what his facial expressions would be. How his eyes would gaze on me…his head would nod in understanding.

This is prayer! An honest, intimate conversation with the living God – who longs to draw near to me. How can this be? Amazing love!photo-1416838375725-e834a83f62b7

“The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.”
Psalm 145:18

It is in these times of prayer that we can know Him and be known by Him, love Him and be loved by Him. This is the kind of praying that gets me through the profoundly difficult times in my life and fills me with the overflow of God’s presence.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”
Romans 15:13

-Stephanie Eisenback

Steph photo“I have been married to my husband, Tim, for 26 years and we have a blended family with 3 children and 5 grandchildren. I have attended Springdale Community Church for 19 years and have been on staff for 12 years. I love people…and love to talk! As an “empty nester” I am seeking God for wisdom and direction. I can’t wait to see all that God has in store for my next stage in life!”

Leave a Reply

