Celebrate Hope

hopeblock

“A time to cry and a time to laugh. A time to grieve and a time to dance” Ecclesiastes 3:4

I’ve been a Christian since I was four years old. I sang “Jesus Loves Me” and “This Little Light of Mine” everywhere I went. I was carefree and bright-eyed. Fast forward three decades and I’ve learned that the reflection in the mirror is quite a bit different than that little girl I barely remember. I have bags under my eyes from sleepless nights, wrinkles appearing I wish I could hide, and baby spit up on my shoulder. I can remember the times I have felt joy and the times my sadness has literally robbed my physical strength. There is a time for everything; a time to laugh and celebrate and a time to cry and grieve.

“I will give you back your health again and heal your wounds.” Jeremiah 30:17

What a beautiful promise from God! I distinctly remember a specific time in my life where I was so fatigued from the burden I was carrying that I lacked the strength to even move. Our God is compassionate and carries us when we lack the strength to do so. There may be times we need Him to pull our legs out of bed for us, or take that next step for us, or even help us take that next breath.

holding-hands“Share each other’s troubles and problems, and in this way obey the law of Christ.” Galatians 6:2

We worry. We fear. We doubt. We stumble. We get anxious. Burdens are for sharing with one another and with Christ. It is the law of love. We ought to love our neighbor as ourselves. By bearing each other’s burdens together, we help lift each other up by lightening the load. A safe place to find hope and freedom from these burdens while encouraging others along the way is Celebrate Recovery. Below are some things people have to say about it:

“Celebrate Recovery was one of the best things I have ever participated in my life. I truly began to see that the Lord wanted me to be free from the chains that bound me. I began to learn that life is not filled with crisis and that I didn’t have to have one in order to have something to share. Our group became close and we did so much to support each other. It was a safe place that didn’t have strings attached but instead we supported each other by acceptance and by caring.” ~Anonymous

“Being able to share and hear other stories like mine and see people’s feelings and help each other cope has been great.” ~Anonymous

“Celebrate Recovery is a huge blessing to me to be able to share with others in honesty, and through Christian hope.” ~Anonymous

Let’s find rest in one another. Let’s share our burdens with one another. Will you journey with me?

-Kristan Tullis

Celebrate-Recovery-1-copyCelebrate Recovery is a program designed to help those struggling with hurts, habits, or hang-ups by showing them the loving power of Jesus Christ through the recovery process. It provides a safe, confidential environment for those who currently find themselves in the battle or have been there and want to support others. The freedom that results from recovery creates peace, serenity, joy, and most importantly, a stronger relationship with God and others. Celebrate Recovery meets on Wednesday nights from 7-9pm in the Fireside Room. 
Leave a Reply

