Messy Buns and Sweatpants

Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God. – Philippians 1:3

Have you ever met someone who has such wisdom and faith that they need very little context to understand you? Well, that was my impression when I first met Kathy Litton almost 9 years ago.

Screen Shot 2014-12-23 at 2.22.50 PMJason and I had just moved to Northwest Arkansas to serve at Cross Church and Kathy was on staff as the women’s ministry director at the Pinnacle Hills campus.

To be quite honest, I was drowning in a sea of grief and disappointment and feeling unfit to be in any type of ministry role. We were 7 months out from losing our baby boy after suffering 3 previous miscarriages. I was not much fun to be around and was enjoying the sadness of wallowing in our circumstances.

Soon after we arrived, our pastor began a teaching series through the book of Job called, “When My Pain is Real” and I heard Kathy’s story for the first time. She was just 4 years into her own journey of grief after losing her husband in a terrible car accident.

As I listened to Kathy’s testimony, I knew that I needed to meet her. She kindly agreed to have lunch with me and patiently spoke wisdom into my life with grace and compassion.

When I think back I am tempted to wish that I’d been in a better place so that I could have served under her ministry, been a friend to her or let her see me at my best. But I’m very thankful that in God’s grace, he allowed me to meet her at my worst.

Now it’s your turn! I can’t wait for you all to meet Kathy at our women’s retreat this year. She is just like you and me, a woman on this divine journey of faith and grace. I know that God has something beautiful planned for our time together.

Please do not miss out on this opportunity to learn more from God’s word, build friendships, laugh, cry and hang out in messy buns and sweatpants. I am praying that whatever obstacles stand in your way or hesitation you may have will be removed and God will give you the courage to say “yes”!

– Bonnie Autry

Bonnie PicI have been married to my best friend and the love of my life, our Pastor Jason Autry, for 13 years in June. We have a beautiful six year old daughter, Alivia. Through God’s word and His grace, I’m learning every day how to be more like Christ and the best wife and mother that I can be. I’m a certified “foodie”, love the beach (with SPF 100), and serving alongside my husband.
2 thoughts on “Messy Buns and Sweatpants

Leave a Reply

