Devotional: Psalm 139:11-12

“If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,’ even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you.

One of my favorite quotes from author Elizabeth Elliot reads, “It is when the sea becomes moonless that The Lord has become my Light.” Before the days of GPS, sailors relied on resources like the moon and the sun to guide them when land was not in sight. Without them, ships could end up way off course, or worse yet -sailing in circles, never leaving the same spot in the water. 1215737_81145679Can you imagine how frustrating it must have been as a crew to put forth all of that effort to just end up right where you began, or even farther from your intended destination?

So many times in my own life I’ve done just that! While I’m not sailing a ship, I am steering my own life, and sometimes taking a crew along with me. And, as the poster child for control freaks everywhere, it is really easy for me to make a decision for “decision-making’s sake” and move forward toward my desired outcome. Even if I don’t want to be in charge, I often feel it is my responsibility, or things just won’t get done. Do you ever feel this way, or is it just me? Ironically, that is also about the time I wish someone else would take over and let me have a break. It is exhausting!

It also is completely absent of trust in God to lead.

What if He drops the ball like other people do? What if He doesn’t get the point of what I am trying to accomplish? The real question is – What if He doesn’t do what I want Him to do?

Psalm 139 is an incredible chunk of Scripture, full of powerful, life-changing words. I recommend reading it in its entirety on your own. But for now, let’s focus on verses 11 and 12:

“If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,’ even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you.” Which is a larger force in my life – the darkness of the unknown path before me and my ability to navigate (control) it, or the God who has the power to make the night bright as the day? Am I sailing in circles in the dark, or resting and trusting that The Lord will be my Light? Maybe you need to stop and drop anchor for a bit.hope-an anchor

Hebrews 6:19-20 says, “We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf…” Breathe deep and rest in the power of Jesus and trust in His love for you the way you trust in His love for others.

  1. Are there any areas in your life right now which you are trying to navigate through out of your own power and strength?
  2. How can you practically walk out letting Him lead in these areas instead? How would this change how you feel?
  3. Find at least 2 verses in Scripture that speak to God’s power to be trusted in your life. Write them on your heart as tools to help you rest in Him.

One of my favorites is James 1:5-6:

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.”

– Jenn Logsdon

  

FullSizeRender (1)Jenn has been attending Springdale Community Church for almost 4 years. She is involved in an awesome Life Group, serves in the children’s ministry, coaches Upward Cheerleading, and will be traveling with a team from Springdale to Guatemala in June 2015. She works as an Account Manager for The Learning House, a company based here in Louisville, KY. Jenn spends most of her free time with her 7 nieces and nephews. 
One thought on “Devotional: Psalm 139:11-12

  1. What a great encouragement that can be applied to the little & big things/decisions we encounter on a daily basis! And to remember to rest in the Lord, it’s so exhausting trying to do it on my own – I need that reminder moment by moment!

Leave a Reply

